Tibet/Dagyab

Tibet is a country that has touched people's imaginations and hearts for centuries. The Tibetan cultural area extends over more than 10 million square kilometers, bordered by the Himalayas in the south, the Karakorum in the west, in the north by the Kunlun and to the east by several high, snowcapped mountain chains. The first Tibetan kingdom with a highly developed culture arose during the 7th century C.E. under the Tibetan King Songtsen Gampo. About 90% of the Tibetans are devouted Buddhists, others are followers of the Bön religion or nature religions.

Sacred Mount Kailash

Tibet can be roughly divided into six regions, each with its own unique features: Central Tibet with Lhasa and other large cities, western Tibet with the sacred Mount Kailash as its main landmark, southern Tibet, which lies comparatively lower and is still thickly forested, Changthang (northern Tibet), on average 5000 m. above sea-level and practically bare of vegetation, Amdo (northeastern Tibet), nomad-country, but also an area in which many other ethnic groups such as Mongols and Moslem minorities live, and finally Kham in the east, wild, green, home to farmers and nomads. Here, too, is Dagyab, our project area.

Tibet was more or less cut off from the rest of the world for a long time. This ended abruptly  in 1950 with the invasion of the People's Liberation Army of China. At present Tibet is a part of the People's Republic of China, in political terms. After the devastating Cultural Revolution, during which thousands of monasteries and cultural monuments were destroyed, many monuments were rebuilt in the 1980's in the wake of an overall liberalization. Nonetheless, religious freedom is still subject to great fluctuations in policy.

A Reliquary

The central government in Beijing is investing extensively in Tibet, but at the same time large numbers of Chinese business entrepreneurs - with whom Tibetans are in no position to compete - are in the process of establishing themselves in the cities. An additional problem is that Tibetans have to pay high fees in many schools and for treatment in hospitals, all of which is prohibitive for poorer people. The lifestyle of "globalization", with its faceless concrete slab buildings, cheap industrial products and primitive mass media, is flooding Tibet and threatening to destroy its cultural identity.

For this reason, a basic school education with Tibetan teachers and that recognizes the value of Tibet's own culture (in handicrafts, literature and medicine, for example), is of vital importance for all children in Tibet.

Medical Students and Teachers in Dagyab
Valuable Statue in the City Temple of Bugön

Only in this way can they participate as responsible citizens in bringing about necessary reforms and in improving their standard of living, and therefore be able to hold their own as a numerically small people between two other peoples, the Han Chinese and the Indians, each over one billion strong.

Where Is Dagyab Located?

Dagyab, our project area, is located on the upper course of the Mekong River, at the far eastern end of the Tibetan Autonomous Region. It is about half the size of the German Bundesland of Hessen (see map). Dagyab's landscapes are enchantingly beautiful; fertile river oases with farming settlements resembling ancient fortified villages, bare, rocky landscapes in striking shades of red with vertical canyons revealing different geological strata, and wide, green alpine pastures alternate with each other.

A Typical Landscape in Dagyab
A Village in Dagyab

About 50,000 people live there, primarily as farmers or as nomads.

Roads or telephones are practically nonexistent in Dagyab, which is still very underdeveloped, even by Tibetan standards. Horses are indispensable for travel in this pathless land, whose plains and valleys lie at elevations between 3100 and 4200 meters above sea level. The administration center is Yendüm, with a population of about 1000.

Tibet/Dagyab

Tibet ist ein Land, das die Fantasie und die Herzen der Menschen schon seit vielen Jahren berührt. Der tibetische Kulturraum umfasst mehr als 10 Mio. Quadratkilometer, wird im Süden vom Himalaya begrenzt, im Westen vom Karakorum, in Norden vom Kunlun und im Osten von mehreren hohen Schneegebirgsketten. Im siebten Jahrhundert unserer Zeitrechnung entstand unter dem tibetischen König Songtsen Gampo das erste tibetische Großreich mit einer hochentwickelten Kultur. 90% der Tibeter sind zum Großteil tiefgläubige Buddhisten; daneben gibt es Anhänger der Bön-Religion oder von Naturreligionen.

Der heilige Berg Kailash

Grob lässt sich das Land in sechs charakteristische Regionen unterteilen: Zentraltibet mit Lhasa und anderen größeren Städten: Westtibet, dessen markantester Punkt der Heilige Berg Kailash darstellt; das relativ niedrig gelegene Südtibet, in dem es noch tiefe Urwälder gibt; der durchschnittlich 5000 m hochgelegene, fast vegetationslose Changthang (Nordtibet); Amdo (Nordosttibet), das Land der Nomaden, in dem auch viele andere Völkerschaften leben wie Mongolen und muslimische Minderheiten; dann zuletzt Kham im Osten, wild, grün, Bauern- und Nomadenland. Hier liegt auch Dagyab, das Projektgebiet.
Lange Zeit war Tibet mehr oder weniger abgeschottet gegen den Rest der Welt. Das endete 1950 mit dem Einmarsch der chinesischen Volksbefreiungsarmee abrupt. Politisch gesehen gehört Tibet momentan zur Volksrepublik China. Nach der verheerenden Kulturrevolution Mitte der 60er bis Mitte der 70er, in deren Folge Tausende von Klöstern und Kulturdenkmälern zerstört wurden, konnten in den 80ern im Zuge der allgemeinen Liberalisierung viele Monumente wieder aufgebaut werden. Jedoch ist die Freiheit der Religionsausübung immer noch großen Schwankungen unterworfen. 

Reliquienschrein

Die Zentralregierung in Beijing investiert viel in Tibet, doch gleichzeitig etablierten sich in den Städten viele chinesische Geschäftsleute, gegen die Tibeter kaum konkurrieren können. Problematisch ist auch, dass die Tibeter in vielen Schulen und für die Behandlungen im Krankenhaus nicht unerhebliche Gelder zahlen müssen, was den ärmeren Leuten unmöglich ist. Der "globale" Lebensstil mit gesichtslosen Betonbauten, billigen Industrieprodukten und primitiven Massenmedien überschwemmt zwangsläufig das Land und droht die tibetische kulturelle Identität zu zerstören.
So ist eine gründliche schulische Ausbildung durch tibetische Lehrer und das Erkennen des Wertes der eigenen Kultur (z.B. im Kunsthandwerk, der Literatur und traditionellen Medizin) aller Kinder in Tibet inzwischen "überlebensnotwendig".

Medizinschüler und Lehrer in Dagyab
Wertvolle Statue im Stadtempel von Bugön

Nur so können sie als mündige Bürger an notwendigen Reformen und an der Verbesserung des Lebensstandards mitwirken und haben die Chance, als zahlenmäßig kleines Volk neben zwei "Milliarden-Völkern" wie den Han-Chinesen und den Indern zu bestehen.

Wo liegt Dagyab?

Auf einer Fläche halb so groß wie Hessen liegt ganz im Osten der Autonomen Region Tibet - am Oberlauf des Mekong - unser Projektgebiet Dagyab. (siehe Karte) Die Landschaft dort ist betörend schön: fruchtbare Flussoasen mit wehrdorfähnlichen bäuerlichen Ansiedlungen, markante tief rote, karge Felslandschaften mit lotrecht stehenden geologischen Schichten und weite grüne Hochweiden wechseln sich ab.

Typische Landschaft in Dagyab
Dorf in Dagyab

Rund 50.000 Menschen leben dort überwiegend von der Landwirtschaft oder als Nomaden.
Straßen oder Telefone sind bisher in Dagyab, das selbst für tibetische Verhältnisse noch sehr rückständig ist, kaum zu finden. Das Pferd ist ein unverzichtbares Reisemittel in dem unwegsamen Gebiet, dessen Ebenen und Täler in Höhen zwischen 3100 und 4200 Meter liegen. Verwaltungssitz ist Yendüm mit etwa 1000 Einwohnern.